Vegans only eat plant-based foods and avoid consuming anything from or of animals. This means chicken, fish, shellfish, eggs, and dairy are out of the picture and for strict vegans even honey is avoided. Some vegans go beyond avoiding the consumption of animal containing foods and live an ethical vegan lifestyle altogether.